Michigan is one of the worst on drug charges in the U.S.
Michigan methamphetamine law disrupts its manufacture by imposing harsh penalties penalties on those operating meth labs and limiting the access of ephedrine and pseudoephedrine.
Estimated at half a million dollars, 20 pounds of pure meth was seized by police in the largest seizure of methamphetamine in the history of Michigan.
In Michigan, drugs are classified in schedules based on potential for abuse and severity. In addition to Michigan law, Meth is a Schedule 2 substance under the Federal Controlled Substance Act. Meth is amongst the most abused drugs because it creates dependence in its user and offers limited medical use. The use of meth often results in addiction and severe medical consequences.
Because more people are using meth, new laws have been created to make it more difficult to manufacture that increase penalties for those who operate meth labs in addition to reducing the availability of ephedrine and pseudoephedrine.
Here is a summary of methamphetamine laws:
A number of variables, such as prior criminal record will affect the sentencing guidelines and the penalty imposed.
Use is a misdemeanor under Michigan Methamphetamine law with a potential punishment of up to 1 year in jail, a $2,000 fine, or possibly both.
Possession of methamphetamine is a felony. If you are convicted of this felony you may be imprisoned for up to 10 years, given a $15,000 fine, or both.
If you were caught possessing meth in a park it can increase your punishment by up to two years imprisonment.
Manufacturing meth is a felony, with a punishment of up to 20 years in prison, a $25,000 fine, or both.
If you are convicted for operating or even maintaining a meth lab, it is a felony, with a potential punishment of up to 10 years in prison, a $100,000 fine, or both.
The consequences for operating a meth lab can be increased by certain aggravating factors like operating within 500 feel of another occupied building, or in the presence of a child. These factors result in a felony punishable by 20 years in prison, a $100,000 fine, or both.
If you are convicted for manufacturing with toxic materials or disposing said materials you are subject to a felony with up to 20 years in prison, a $100,000 fine, or both. Additionally, you may be required to pay the cost of cleaning the remaining contamination in the lab.
Possession of lab equipment or providing lab equipment to another will result in felonies that are punishable by as many as 10 years in prison, a $100,000 fine, or both.
Selling meth or the possession of meth with the intent to sell is a felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison, a fine of $25,000, or possibly both.
Furthermore, the sale of meth by a person over 18 to a minor (under 18) in a park can add up to 2 years of time in prison.
Ephedrine and Pseudoephedrine laws:
You can find Ephedrine and Pseudoephedrine in common cold medications. Often, it is used as the active ingredient in meth.
A person is limited to the purchase of 3.6 grams in a single day or no more than 9 grams in a period of 30 days. Those who care caught trying to do so will receive a misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in jail, a $500 fine, or possibly both.
Possession of greater than 12 grams is a felony punishable by 2 years of prison, a fine of $2,000, or both.
A retailer is restricted from selling a person more than 3.6 grams in a single day or more than 9 grams in a 30 day period. Also, a retailer is prohibited from selling in a single over-the-counter sale, more than 2 personal convenience packages containing 2 tablets of any such product.
Additionally, retailers must retain records containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine behind the counter or in a locked case. Purchasers must provide valid ID and the purchaser’s name, birthdate, and address must be entered into a database. Retailers are restricted from selling this product to a minor.
If the sale of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine is transacted through the use of the mail, internet, telephone, or other electronic means, a person is prohibited from selling or delivering it. A sale of this type is a felony punishable by up to 4 years imprisonment, a $5,000 fine, or both.
The sale of ephedrine to a person under 18 is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in jail, a $100 fine, or both.
Deferred sentencing could be used to keep convictions off your record, depending on the crime, age when conviction is made, and prior criminal record.
When it comes to defending yourself, every second matters. It’s the accused vs. a vast network of law enforcement and prosecution professionals. We understand just how intimidating that can feel. To protect yourself, you need a criminal lawyer with knowledge, experience, and tenacity: an attorney unafraid to take on the justice system in the courtroom.
Rudoi Law is ready to fight as hard as you are. No matter what kind of criminal charge you face, we can offer the determined expertise you need. In courthouses in Oakland, Macomb, and Wayne Counties, Rudoi Law is on call to take on your criminal case.
GET REPRESENTATION NOW